Lingoda learning levels and the CEFR

What is the CEFR?

It’s common to think of language levels as Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced, but this is often too broad.
At Lingoda, we use the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).
It’s an internationally recognized standard that describes your learning progress in more detail. In simpler terms, the framework helps you to explain your level from Beginner (A1) to Advanced (C1).
The CEFR levels build on each other all the way up to native-level fluency.

How we use CEFR levels at Lingoda

All languages we offer are aligned with the CEFR levels, so once you know your level, we can suggest the best classes to get your progress going immediately.
If you’re not sure about your level, you’ll have the opportunity to take our CEFR level test.

CEFR language proficiency levels at a glance


Prove your progress

Show everyone how far you’ve come! After you complete each level, you can prove your skills with a CEFR-aligned Lingoda certificate or by taking the Linguaskill from Cambridge test.

Lingoda learning certificates

Our learning levels have 50 classes each and you will receive a certificate upon completion of each level. Show off progress on your CV or LinkedIn profile with a Lingoda certificate. Employers and academic institutions around the world accept the CEFR standard. Please note that governments and official institutions might have specific requirements for certificates and you are advised to check with your institution if the Lingoda certificate is accepted.

The Lingoda learning method

Everything you need to know about the Lingoda learning method in one place. See why our way of doing things is the most effective path to fluency.

The Lingoda platform

See how the magic happens! Discover learning with Lingoda actually works and meet some of our teachers.